Hofland & Tomsheck 
Fighting for Justice - - Fighting for YOU!

Your Subtitle text

Punishments for a DUI

What are the penalties for a DUI DWI conviction?

 

Driving Under the Influence - First Offense:

 

When you are convicted of DUI (driving under the influence) in Nevada and it is your first offense, there are minimum sentencing factors that the Court must impose. 

 

The minimum and maximum sentencing ranges for a DUI first offense in Las Vegas, Nevada, are as follows:

 

“Jail time” or Incarceration:

 

The Court is required to impose a minimum of 48 hours in jail, up to and including a maximum of 180 days, or six (6) months, in jail.  The Court does have discretion to impose a sentence of ninety-six (96) hours of community service instead of actual jail time.

 

Fine and/or Monetary Assessments:

 

The Court is required to impose assessments and fines totaling a minimum of $400.00 and a maximum of $1,000.00.  This is in addition to any Court costs.

 

Suspension of Driving Privileges:

 

 The Department of Motor Vehicles, or “DMV,” is required to impose a ninety (90) day suspension of your driving privileges.  After a period of forty-five (45) days, known as a "hard suspension period," has passed, in which all driving privileges are removed, a driver may be eligible to obtain a restricted driver's license that allows the person to drive for limited purposes, such as employment, for the remainder of the suspension period.

 

DUI School:

 

For every person convicted for a first DUI conviction, the Court must impose a requirement that you enroll in and complete a state approved traffic safety “school.”  This is commonly referred to as “DUI School.”  This eight (8) hour program costs each attendee approximately $150.00

 

 

Alcohol Treatment:

 

Depending on the Court issuing the order, you may be required to enter, complete and pay for, an alcohol treatment program.

 

Special Conditions if BAC is over 0.18:

 

If your first DUI conviction involves a breath or blood alcohol reading that was .18 or higher, then the court will normally impose:

 

•A DUI Assessment Program that requires a $100 fee;

 •The Victim Impact Panel that requires a $40.00 fee; and

 •The court may require that you pay for installation and maintenance of the Breath Interlock Devices on your vehicle for twelve to thirty-six months;

 •Even if your breath or blood alcohol concentration was below .18, the court may order the Breath Interlock Device for 3 months to 6 months.

 •Based on the DUI assessment given in the DUI Assessment Program, the court will impose extensive counseling to address drug or alcohol issues.

 

 

Driving Under the Influence - Second Offense

 

The penalties for driving under the influence depend on whether you have a prior conviction for a DUI offense.  If you have previously been convicted of a Drunk Driving/DUI/OWI offense within the past seven (7) years, the sentence is for your new conviction is “enhanceable.”  In other words, the punishment goes up for each new offense.  The seven (7) year period is calculated from the arrest in the first case until the arrest in the current case.

 

When you are convicted of DUI (driving under the influence in Nevada) and it is your SECOND offense, there are minimum sentencing factors that the Court must impose. 

 

The minimum and maximum sentencing ranges for a DUI SECOND offense in Las Vegas, Nevada, are as follows:

 

“Jail time” or Incarceration:

 

The Court is required, for a second DUI conviction, to impose a minimum of 10 days in jail, up to and including or up to a maximum of 180 days, or six (6) months, in jail.  As an alternative, the Court has discretion to impose “residential confinement,” such as in an inpatient alcohol or drug treatment program which has 24/7 monitoring, instead of time in the County or City jail.  All people convicted second DUI must serve at least one continuous period in jail of at least 48 consecutive hours.

 

Fine and/or Monetary Assessments:

 

The Court is required to impose assessments and fines totaling a minimum of $750.00 and a maximum of $1,000.00.  This is in addition to any court costs. 

 

Suspension of Driving Privileges:

 

The Department of Motor Vehicles, or “DMV,” is required to impose a one (1) year suspension of your driver's license.

 

DUI School:

 

For every person convicted of a second DUI conviction within the past seven (7) years, the Court must require the person to attend and complete a DUI School class.

 

Alcohol Treatment:

 

Depending on the Court issuing the order, you may be required to enter, complete and pay for, an alcohol treatment program. 

 

Special Conditions if BAC (the concentration percentage of alcohol in your blood) is over 0.18:

 

If your first DUI conviction involves a breath or blood alcohol reading that was .18or higher, then the court will normally impose:

 

•A DUI evaluation that requires a $100 fee;

 •The Victim Impact Panel that requires a $40.00 fee; and

 •The court may require that you pay for installation and maintenance of the Breath Interlock Devices on your vehicle for twelve to thirty-six months;

 •Even if your breath or blood alcohol concentration was below .18, the court may order the Breath Interlock Device for 3 months to 6 months.

 •Based on the DUI assessment given in the DUI Assessment Program, the court will impose extensive counseling to address drug or alcohol issues.

 

 

 

Driving Under the Influence – Third or Subsequent Offense (Felony Offense)

 

The penalties for driving under the influence depend on whether you have a prior conviction for a DUI offense.  If you have previously been convicted of two (2) or more Drunk Driving/DUI/OWI offense within the past seven (7) years, the sentence is for your new conviction is “enhanceable.”  In other words, the punishment goes up for each offense.  The seven (7) year period is calculated from the arrest in the first case until the arrest in the current case.  If you are arrested for Drunk Driving/DUI/OWI after you have previously been convicted of two DUIs within the past seven (7) years then your case will be charged as a Felony (class “B”).  More importantly, this offense is a “non-probationable” offense, meaning that you are not eligible for probation and must go to prison. 

 

The minimum and maximum sentencing ranges for a DUI THIRD offense in Las Vegas, Nevada, are as follows:

 

“Prison / Jail time” or Incarceration:

 

For a Felony DUI third conviction the court must impose a sentence between one (1) year and six (6) years in the Nevada Department of Corrections, which is the State Prison system in Nevada.

 

Fine and/or Monetary Assessments:

 

For a Felony DUI third conviction the court must impose fines of at least $2,000.00 and as much as $5,000.00.  This is in addition to any court costs. 

 

 

Suspension of Driving Privileges:

 

For a Felony DUI third conviction the Court will Order the suspension of your driving privileges for three (3) to five (5) years.  This suspension means that not even a restricted driver's license is available until you have served at least one (1) full calendar year of the revocation after your release from custody.  After that period you are allowed to request a restricted license, but not until you provide proof that you have installed a breath controlled ignition interlock device on any car you drive and that you have obtained special auto insurance, called SR-22 insurance, which comes at a staggering cost compared to standard auto insurance. 

Additionally, for a DUI third conviction, the DMV has a mandatory duty to revoke your privileges to drive a motor vehicle for 3 years. 

 

 

Alcohol Treatment:

 

Depending on the Court issuing the order, you may be required to enter, complete and pay for, an alcohol treatment program. 

 

  

Driving Under the Influence – Substantial Bodily Harm or Death (Felony)

 

In addition to the Drunk Driving/DUI charges detailed above, there is a separate crime recognized in Nevada for DUI Causing Serious Bodily Harm or Death.  This Crime is a Felony.  A very serious Felony. 

 

The law in Nevada states that if a person is convicted of DUI which causes substantial bodily harm, or death, in another person, it is a FELONY offense.  This is true even if the person charged has no criminal history whatsoever. 

 

The charge for DUI causing substantial bodily harm or death is a category “B” Felony, which is the second most severe level of Felony in Nevada law.  In this instance, such a crime is punishable by imprisonment in Nevada State Prison system for a minimum term of 2 years and a maximum term 20 years.  It also carries a fine of between $2,000.00 to $5,000.00.  More importantly, DUI causing substantial bodily harm or death is a non-probationable offense, meaning if you are convicted, you must go to prison. 

 

When someone finds themselves charged with the crime of DUI causing substantial bodily harm or death, it is extremely important that a qualified, dedicated and aggressive lawyer is obtained early on in the process to begin fighting the case.  There are several issues that are unique to this charge and anything less than an experienced and educated DUI lawyer may miss a chance to obtain the best result for the person charged. 

 

For instance, one of the essential issues in a DUI causing substantial bodily harm or death case is whether the charged driver who was allegedly intoxicated with alcohol or impaired by a controlled substance was the “proximate cause” of the serious bodily injury or death of the victim.  If not, then the conviction, and the 2-20 year prison sentence that comes with it, cannot stand.  Many lawyers, who do not specialize in DUI defense, do not know they have the right to present defense evidence that the person charged is not guilty of that element of the charge because something else caused the injury or death.  This is known as a superseding or intervening cause. 

 

This is just one of the many potential defenses to someone who is in the scary position of being charged with DUI causing substantial bodily harm or death. You need a lawyer who knows these issues and will fight on your behalf when faced with such a charge.  Partner Josh Tomsheck, of the Law Firm of Hofland & Tomsheck, is a former Chief Deputy District Attorney and a Member of the National College of DUI Defense. Attorney Tomsheck has made a career out of not being afraid to fight a case in the Courtroom in the interest of Justice. Attorney Tomsheck will do the same thing for you.

 

If you have been arrested or charged with a drunk driving or DUI offense in Las Vegas, Clark County or Nevada, contact our office right away to discuss your DUI case.  We will give you a free consultation to determine what needs to be done to get you the best result possible.  We are available during regular business hours and can be reached 24/7 in the case of an emergency. Call (702) 895-6760 or outside Las Vegas at (855) LVNV DUI / (855) 586-8384 or e-mail to schedule an appointment.


LVNVDUI.COM and the law firm of Hofland & Tomsheck handles cases and represents individuals, both residents and visitors, charged with DUI and Drunk Driving offenses in the following areas and courts:

Nevada, Clark County, Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas, Boulder City, Searchlight, Mesquite, Laughlin, Summerlin, The Las Vegas Strip, Las Vegas Boulevard, McCarran Airport, Nellis Air Force Base and University of Las Vegas, UNLV, Las Vegas Justice Court, Las Vegas Municipal Court, North Las Vegas Justice Court, North Las Vegas Municipal Court, Henderson Justice Court, Henderson Municipal Court, Clark County District Court and Federal Court.

 

Web Hosting Companies